The State of Grace

Moleskine v Filofax

Posted on: July 18, 2011

I’ve always loved using Moleskine as journals.  I’ve kept a journal for my children for years and love the silkiness of the Moleskine paper.  It just makes the thoughts flow.  When they came out with planners, I was so excited.  I set aside my Filofax and moved right into a Moleskine.  But as much as I loved the paper, the planner just didn’t work for me.  I would use one for about 3 months and then it would be left aside.  It was a very disorganized time in my life.  I was trying to fit a square peg into a round hole.  It didn’t work.

I really wanted to make the Moleskine work because I use my planners as a logbook as well as an organizer.  My planners make up for my lag in journaling.  But another reason I kept trying to make it work is because I wanted my journals to look like these:

 

These were posted by @Miranda in the Livejournal group “Organizers.”  She has the most creative pages as well as others in the group — most of them using Moleskine.

Obviously, my planner is supposed to work for me; and my Filofax is what works best for me.

I won’t be saying goodbye to my Moleskine though.  As per Laurie on Plannerisms, I’m using it as a log book.  If only I could make them as awesome as Miranda’s.

2 Responses to "Moleskine v Filofax"

Thanks for the mention! 🙂

I too would love for my planner to be all pretty and colorful and creative. But it always ends up covered in my scrawley writing from edge to edge every week. As you so rightly noted, our planner needs to work for us in whatever way works best for us.

What I want to know is, how are you using your Filofax? Which size have you settled on, and what diary layout are you using? I’ve never been able to get a Filofax to work for me very well as my planner because the large page size I need results in an overly-huge book which causes me to not take it anywhere. I’d love to hear how you are having success with your Filofax!

Ha! I love those, but I don’t know how she sees anything she needs to do! I’d be too busy admiring my own artwork…

I echo Laurie’s questions..how do you use your Filofax?

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Grace: I use a handheld punch (with one punch). It's tedious but worth it. It does overlap at the bottom but does not interfere with anything. In fact, I
  • Kristy: I just bought the A5 filofax. It was driving me crazy that I could not fund anything to fit at office depot. What did you use to hole punch? When you
  • ~AspireToBe: Absolutely inspired! I cannot believe you are a beginner in this art form - to me, your capture of your day is brilliant! An amazing way to record t

Categories

