The State of Grace

Current State of Grace

Posted on: June 25, 2011

My last post was on my 20th Anniversary.  It turned out to be a terrible day.  My mother-in-law passed away that day.  Most people cringe at the thought of a mother-in-law, but I have to say I had the best.  She was the kindest, most loving woman.  She had 3 daughters and 7 sons, which made her a pro at being a mother-in-law by the time I came in the family.  She stayed out of our business and only said encouraging words.  I can almost say I got along better with her than I did my own mother; but, of course, who doesn’t argue with their mother every now and then.  She will be greatly missed.

So, our lives were clearly disrupted and I abandoned any planner/organizer this month.  I tried to keep up with my “logbook” so that I didn’t miss out on anything we did, but the entries were sparse.

My Filofax situation has changed a bit.  I was getting used to size of my personal size Filofax, but it was getting fairly heavy with all they pages you have to fill it with because the page sizes are so small.   And I decided I definitely need a bigger size, but not as big as the A5.  As much as I love the fine leather provided by the Filofax, I am back in my Dayrunner.  It’s a slimline version so very easy to slip in my bag when needed.  I realize I don’t have to carry it everywhere.  I can settle for a notepad to jot things down on and transfer them into my planner when I get home.  

I also found a Blue Sky binder I had that would make a perfect binder for the Moleskine weekly.  I’m tempted to try that first just to see how I do with a bound book.  (I’ve always failed with bound books).

Here are some pics:

 

 

I’ve hole-punched the Filofax pages to fit

 

 

Dayrunner (slimline zip)

You can barely tell by the ring size that there is a difference, but there is a huge difference in the weight (of course, Dayrunner uses simulated leather).

Blue Sky binder

Blue Sky binder

You can use a monthly on the left

 Weekly on right

9 Responses to "Current State of Grace"

So sorry for your loss. Blessings to you and your family. xx

Thank you so much.

Grace I am so, so sorry to hear about your mother-in-law.

Thank you for taking the time to share this post with us. I really, really like both of these solutions. I too am always battling between Personal and A5 Filofaxes (personal pages too small, A5 book too big). The DayRunner binder is exactly what I wish Filofax would come out with: a true slimline A5 binder. That way I can have the large page size I need but in a binder I can actually carry in my bag.

And I love the Moleskines in the Blue Sky binder! What a great way to have a large monthly view and week + notes. Over years of trial and error I’ve finally determined I cannot function without a week + notes format, and I must have monthly views too. This is a fantastic way to have both!

Thanks Laurie! I keep telling myself that the Blue Sky binder is the solution to all my bound planner fails, but I can’t get myself to move out of my Dayrunner. I hope that means I’ve found my match!

I’m still waiting on your blog about your “logbook.” I’m finding it very repetitive, writing everything down from my planner, but I know that is the only thing that is going to keep everything in one spot.

Looking forward to more of your planner adventures!

Thanks Grace! My “logbook” post is scheduled for Friday, but much of the details on how I’m using my logbook along with my weekly planner can be found here:

http://www.plannerisms.com/2011/05/update-what-im-currently-using.html

That binder for your Moleskines looks great! Where can I get one of those? Is it real leather? (I’m vegetarian and don’t use leather products so it’s always difficult for me to find that kind of thing.) I use an 18 month weekly notebook in the large size – would something like that fit?-Looks like what you’ve got at the moment. Also, would it be practical with only the one notebook in, instead of both as you have now? (Though that IS pretty cool.)

You can buy Blue Sky at Office Depot or Target, and no it isn’t real leather. I think it is plastic, so it would be perfect. When I purchased it, it had a Blue Sky Monthly spiral binder in it. I just replaced it with the Moleskine. And the 18-month would fit in it. One notebook would be fine. It would actually be less bulky. You can also try the Franklin Covey binders at Office Depot. (But they may be real leather — I’m not sure.)

I am sorry to hear of your loss. Praying that you find comfort in those you love and the routines that keep one going in times like this.

Take care.

Thank you so much Sandra.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Grace: I use a handheld punch (with one punch). It's tedious but worth it. It does overlap at the bottom but does not interfere with anything. In fact, I
  • Kristy: I just bought the A5 filofax. It was driving me crazy that I could not fund anything to fit at office depot. What did you use to hole punch? When you
  • ~AspireToBe: Absolutely inspired! I cannot believe you are a beginner in this art form - to me, your capture of your day is brilliant! An amazing way to record t

Categories

