The State of Grace

My Moleskine Trial

Posted on: May 24, 2011

After trying out a personal-sized Filofax, I realized that I just felt cramped. 

Another issue I have with the Filofax is archiving.  I use my planner as a logbook to look back on later on in life, and I can never quite keep the Filofax pages together to archive properly.  It’s probably because part of the pages are personal size and some are A5. 

That is the benefit of having your journal/diary in a bound book such as Moleskine.  I have used Moleskine for this before, but I could never quite stick to it for a full year.  I decided that I would make my own and try it out in an Extra-Large Plain Moleskine.  Unfortunately, after spending hours drawing it out, I found it huge and hard to maneuver when writing on my lap.  But since I spent hours drawing it out, I’m going to try to stick with it for awhile.  The following are pics of my work of art.

There is plenty of extra pages left at the end of the notebook to add lists and extras.

Tags:

2 Responses to "My Moleskine Trial"

Sorry the personal didn’t work! I have been contemplating going back to Planner Pad. Not only do I like the fact that it’s bound, but I also like the space/portability ratio. ALSO! The cost of Filofax is really prohibitive!
Let’s say you buy a Personal size binder/extra inserts; you’re probably in well over $100. THEN, you decide there’s not enough room, so you buy an A5. Again, another $100.
A new Planner Pad every year is only about $26. PLUS, say you decide you want to change sizes, $26 is ALOT easier for me to swing than another $100!!
Any hoo! Hope the moleskine works out for you!

Look forward to another post :O)

BTW, would you be willing to put a ‘subscribe’ button on your blog so that I can add it to my feed reader? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

  • Grace: I use a handheld punch (with one punch). It's tedious but worth it. It does overlap at the bottom but does not interfere with anything. In fact, I
  • Kristy: I just bought the A5 filofax. It was driving me crazy that I could not fund anything to fit at office depot. What did you use to hole punch? When you
  • ~AspireToBe: Absolutely inspired! I cannot believe you are a beginner in this art form - to me, your capture of your day is brilliant! An amazing way to record t

Categories

